Klinker library in KDE Connect Sms app

So today GSoC’s three months coding period officially begins. Last one month I spent bonding with my mentors and have tried to establish the prerequisites required for the rest of the project. My project for GSoC 2020 is to improve the MMS support to KDE Connect’s SMS app.
During the community bonding period, the first challenge we had to face was to implement a way to send MMS messages from KDE Connect’s android app and it becomes more challenging when you will come to know that android’s MMS API’s are hidden and there is no documentation available for the same. This task alone becomes beyond the scope of a GSoC project.
With the help of some luck, we found the Klinker library which is an opensource sm-mms library for android. I spent some time going through its implementation and after having the understanding of how it works, I started implementing it in KDE Connect and within two weeks I was able to send MMS messages through KDE Connect for the first time.
I would say, It is a great library for third-party android developers who wants to implement similar functionality in their applications.

Apart from this, the work to add MMS support in KDE Connect SMS app is in progress. Very soon we will be going to have MMS support in KDE Connect! Here’s a short demonstration of what I have implemented till now.

One thought on “Klinker library in KDE Connect Sms app

  1. Thanks very much for working on this! Great project to undertake since I can only see notifications on MMS and just started using KDE Connect myself and like the way that I can send and receive SMS messages from the desktop. Keep up the good work.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started